Review: Wild And Wicked Things by Francesca May

A lush, glittering read for people who need a sapphic, witchy Great Gatsby.

Following World War I, Annie Mason travels to Crow Island to sort through her late father’s estate. She’s never travelled alone before, but the island allows her to catch up with her estranged best friend, Beatrice. There’s also Annie’s magnetic neighbour, Emmeline, shrouded with rumours of witchcraft and the host of extravagant parties. Annie stumbles into their world and discovers the terrible cost of magic after witnessing a confrontation between Bea and Emmeline. She can’t help but interfere when these two women are involved.

Slow-paced, rich, and magical this book crafts a shining 1920s full of mystery and extravagance. The writing is gorgeous and evocative enough that the slow-pace works brilliantly. Annie, Bea, and Emmeline are dislikeable yet compelling, frustrating yet multi-faceted. There’s also a delightful amount of sapphic yearning. It’s a brilliant book that fans of The Great Gatsby will adore. As someone who didn’t enjoy The Great Gatsy, Wild and Wicked Things didn’t totally work for me. Despite this, I still found it captivating, which demonstrates the strength of Francesca May’s writing. If you love complex characters, sapphic witchiness, and an intense amount of longing, you should pick this book up.

Thanks to Little Brown Book Group and Netgalley for providing me with an advanced copy in exchange for an honest review.

Author Information

Francesca May grew up in the middle of England where she spent her childhood devouring fantasy books and brewing potions in her back garden. She currently lives in Derby with her family, three giant dogs and two black cats.

By day she works as a bookseller. By night she accidentally kills every house plant she touches and writes novels about gothic mansions, witchcraft, and queer love.

Get this book

If you want to remember to check out this book you should Add to Goodreads!

You can pre/order the book from retail sites such as Blackwell’s & Waterstones

I’d recommend checking out your local indie bookshop!

see you next time! Luminosity Library

6 thoughts on “Review: Wild And Wicked Things by Francesca May

  1. Great review! I’ve seen some very mixed reviews about this one and I haven’t read Gatsby but neither have I really felt compelled to because I don’t think I’ll enjoy it so perhaps this won’t be for me either! 🙈

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been on the fence for this one because of the mixed reviews and The Great Gatsby isn’t a book I really enjoyed too. But, your review has me convinced that I need to at least give Wild and Wicked Things a try—I’m too weak for captivating writing + sapphic witchiness and complex characters 😍

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment