Book Tour: Glimpsed // Review, Favourite Quotes, & Author Interview

Turn The Page Tours Presents Glimpsed Blog Tour. January 19th - 25th.

Hello everyone! Today I’m bringing you a tour stop for Glimpsed by G.F. Miller! I had so much fun with this book! It’s a light-hearted, feel-good contemporary YA about a fairy godmother who finds out her wish-granting isn’t doing the good she thinks it is. Filled with geeky references and an adorable romance (with fake dating!) Glimpsed is so cute! Thanks so much to Turn the Page Tours, Simon & Schuster, and the author for including me on this tour. I’m especially excited to be doing an author interview with G.F Miller, she has some amazing answers to my questions!

We’ve also got a giveaway! More info at the bottom of this post!

Perfect for fans of Geekerella and Jenn Bennett, this charming, sparkly rom-com follows a wish-granting teen forced to question if she’s really doing good—and if she has the power to make her own dreams come true.

Charity is a fairy godmother. She doesn’t wear a poofy dress or go around waving a wand, but she does make sure the deepest desires of the student population at Jack London High School come true. And she knows what they want even better than they do because she can glimpse their perfect futures.

But when Charity fulfills a glimpse that gets Vibha crowned homecoming queen, it ends in disaster. Suddenly, every wish Charity has ever granted is called into question. Has she really been helping people? Where do these glimpses come from, anyway? What if she’s not getting the whole picture?

Making this existential crisis way worse is Noah—the adorkable and (in Charity’s opinion) diabolical ex of one of her past clients—who blames her for sabotaging his prom plans and claims her interventions are doing more harm than good. He demands that she stop granting wishes and help him get his girl back. At first, Charity has no choice but to play along. But soon, Noah becomes an unexpected ally in getting to the bottom of the glimpses. Before long, Charity dares to call him her friend…and even starts to wish he were something more. But can the fairy godmother ever get the happily ever after?


Book Review

Glimpsed is a light-hearted young adult contemporary with a touch of Fairy Godmother magic and the perfect sprinkling of cheesiness and Star Trek references. It’s one of those perfect comfort reads that are difficult to put down, and leave you feeling a little bit happier than how you started.

It’s not her story. So nobody gives a magical mouse turd about the fairy godmother’s problems.

The main character, Charity, is a teenage Fairy Godmother (it runs in her family, you see) so on top of having to balance her busy school life she’s also working behind the scenes to make people’s dreams come true. Only, perhaps she’s not doing as much to help as she thought. She was such a fun character, confident, a bit naive, and selfless to the point that she’ll never put herself first. I loved how often she changes her hair colours, I loved her sense of humour, and I loved her character development!

Magic is just a word for something science doesn’t yet have an explanation for.

My favourite aspect of the book was how it looked into the dangers of granting wishes. When Charity is approached by Noah, the ex of one of the girls she helped, she finds out she might not be doing what’s best for them after all. Charity is only doing what she thinks will make people happy, not what actually will. It turns out small glimpses of people’s futures aren’t always enough to make their dreams come true. I loved this theme because it showed how Charity was making decisions based on how she would want those scenarios to take place, how her world view shrouded her perspective. If you want to help you need to pay attention to their needs, and how they might be different from your own. It’s so important, especially for teenagers, to be reminded that success and happiness doesn’t come in one way; staying yourself while chasing your dreams is possible.

The fairy godmother doesn’t get her own story. She just pops into other people’s stories once in a while. We’re the Universe’s designated side characters.

Glimpsed is full of heart-warming moments; it’s a book with good vibes. I loved the Star Trek references, the cheesiness, and the banter. From the premise to the execution this book was so much fun.

If you spend your life trying to protect yourself from getting hurt, you’ll end up missing the best parts. Some people are worth breaking your heart over.

Also, we need to talk about how the book has so many of my favourite tropes! Enemies-to-lovers and fake dating, anyone? A slice of obliviousness? Longing! I loved the way Charity and Noah’s relationship developed, it was natural and slow-building, and the way it finally challenged Charity to put herself first? Chefs kiss

Fairy godmothers don’t whine. We don’t beg for mercy like little wusses. Fairy godmothers take charge.

The only thing I didn’t enjoy as much was how easily the family drama was resolved. Charity’s family is… dysfunctional at best. I’m glad the book ended on a happy note, and I understand the need to keep it lighthearted, but I wish there had been a bit more depth to this theme, rather than a rush of reveals towards the end.

Humans who fall in love with fairies are royally screwed. Seriously, it always ends very badly for the hapless human. Which explains so much about my family tree.

Overall, Glimpsed was a fun light-hearted read that’s perfect for this dreary time of year. Time to brighten up your life with Charity’s hair colours, and sink into a fluffy romance.

Recommended for: People who love light-hearted fluffy romance with a hint of fantasy, people who always used to imagine they were a fairy godmother, people who want all their books to have more Star Trek in.

Author Interview

Hi! It’s so great to be able to interview you! I really wanted to be part of this tour because the premise of a fairy godmother whose wishes are going wrong was so interesting, what gave you inspiration for the idea? 

Much like the main character, Charity, I’m a fixer, so it came pretty naturally to me to  write a story about someone who legit believes it’s her job to fix other people’s stuff. I  actually wrote Glimpsed as a mental vacation after writing something very deep and  heavy. I was exhausted from pouring myself into this difficult topic. So I said, “Okay, now  I’m just going to make myself laugh.” I had so much fun writing Glimpsed . And I loved  exploring—in a really whimsical way—the question of “What does it mean to truly help  others? How do we engage with people who are struggling without imposing our own  will on them or diminishing their dignity?” 

What was your favourite part of writing Glimpsed?  

I love writing dialogue. When I’m in dialogue mode, I write out loud, make faces,  laugh… Sometimes I get caught making some terrible face, and then I have to explain  that Charity is just really mad at someone.

I love how often Charity changes her hair! I’ve had brightly coloured hair for over ten years  now so it was so relatable! If you were going to dye your hair something fun, what what you  do to it? 

I’m really digging the peek-a-boo colors and under-layers right now. And I’d probably go  with something on the blue/purple/teal side of the color wheel. 

I don’t suppose you could give us any insights into your next book, the ‘Super Secret Work in  Progress’?  

I want people who love Glimpsed to have another magical YA romcom to look forward  to, so I’m scribbling away at it. I can’t talk about it much yet because it isn’t sold. But if  you want updates as they become available, you can go to my Goodreads page and add  “super secret work in progress” to your TBR. Or you can subscribe to my “sporadic news”  at gfmiller.com I PROMISE to share details as soon as I can!  

Do you have a message for my readers? What are you hoping they’ll take away from reading your book?

Honestly, I hope that readers can get a few hours off from everything heavy and hard right now. They can just escape to this world where wishes come true and nothing truly terrible can happen and there will be a happy ending somehow. I hope they laugh out loud and swoon and stand up and cheer. Then I hope they close the book with a big smile on their face that is stuck there for the rest of the day.


About The Author

G.F. Miller absolutely insists on a happy ending. Everything else is negotiable. Her wish is to go everywhere—and when a plane ticket isn’t available, books fill the gaps. She cries at all the wrong times. She makes faces at herself in the mirror. She believes in the Oxford comma. And she’s always here for a dance party.


Giveaway!

For this tour, we have THREE (3) separate giveaways! Up for grabs, we have ONE (1) signed copy of Glimpsed by G.F. Miller (available to US only), TWO (2) EXCLUSIVE chapters from Noah’s POV, and a Skype or Zoom visit with the author (both available to INTL)! This will run from January 19th to January 26th at 11:59 PM CST. To enter this giveaway, click the link below!

RAFFLECOPTER LINK: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/1e4a114d17/?

Get this book

Glimpsed released on the 5th of January 2021, so there’s never been a more perfect time to grab a copy.

If you want to remember to check out this book you should add it to Goodreads!

You can get this book from major book sellers such as Blackwells.

I’d recommend checking out your local indie bookshop! You can use Bookshop.org to support them!

I’m so excited to see what everyone else’s thoughts were! Here’s the schedule if you’re interested in having a look.

9 thoughts on “Book Tour: Glimpsed // Review, Favourite Quotes, & Author Interview

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s